Skip to Main Content

Alumni Fellows Program

Recognizing Outstanding FLC Alumni

The Alumni Fellows Program recognizes alumni who have distinguished themselves in their careers. Fort Lewis College is proud of its graduates. After alumni establish themselves in their respective career fields and make exciting strides in some way, they deserve to be recognized. This program brings successful alumni back to campus to meet with students and faculty, and share their expertise in the classroom and during this celebration.

How It Works

Each year, department chairs from each department nominate a distinguished alumni that they believe deserves the title of Alumni Fellows. The Alumni Fellows are invited back to Fort Lewis College to celebrate in their honor the week of the Undergraduate Research Symposium.

The Alumni Fellows program serves as a means for enriching the FLC experience by exposing students to outstanding alumni who share extensive knowledge and real-world experience in their respective fields. The program is a stimulating way to blend the interests of the accomplished professionals, the students, and the faculty.

Frequently, Fellows debunk cherished myths and often they hand out practical advice on how to acquire skills and fulfill one’s career objectives. Sometimes they point them toward unconsidered goals. Unfailingly, Fellows stimulate thought, debate, and action.

2020 Alumni Fellows

25 alumni were nominated from their academic department to receive this award, recognizing their accomplishments in their fields. Although these Fellows were unable to join us on campus, several have provided us with heartfelt videos where they speak of the importance of their experiences at Fort Lewis College.

Congratulations to our 2020 Alumni Fellows

Alumni Name  Year & Department/major nominated  
Greg Allen 1990, Marketing
Katie Ashley 2011, Exercise Science
Natalie Benally 2010,  Theater
Eric Budreau 1993, Accounting
Brian Campbell 2006, Engineering
Melissa Malberg Claeys 2002, Music
Jim Corken 1974,  Geology
Kimi Hanson 2002, Education
Dana Hawkins 2012, Anthropology
Lynda Hayes 2014, Economics
Melissa Johnson 1998, English
Beau Kiklis 2014, Environmental Studies
Dr. Steven Lavengood 1980, Biology
Dr. Joslynn Lee 2006, Chem-biochem
Greg Ley 2010 Adventure Education
Melissa McConnell 2009, European History
Carolyn Morris 1978 Psychology
Dr. Randy Palmer 1986, Physics
Sunshine Perry 2014, NAIS
Shardai Pioche 2016, Public Health
Mary Rose Sena 2012, Math
Matt Smith 2014, Sociology
Danny Starr 2013, Art (graphic design)
Zane Wells 2009, Business Administration 
Sylvia Wirba 2004, Philosophy